skip to content

It's a New Day in Public Health.

The Florida Department of Health works to protect, promote & improve the health of all people in Florida through integrated state, county, & community efforts.

skip to content

Tanning Facilities

Florida Department of Health in Lafayette County

  •  386-294-1321
  •  

    Mailing Address

    140 SW Virginia Circle 

    P. O. Box 1806 

    Mayo, Florida 32066 

There are risks associated with overexposure to ultraviolet light from tanning beds and booths as there are with overexposure to sunlight.  Because the use of indoor tanning devices can have serious health consequences, the Florida Legislature authorized the Department of Health and its county health departments to regulate tanning facilities.

County Health Departments inspect tanning facilities twice per year to verify their safe and sanitary operation.

Tanning facilities must only allow customers to tan only once within a 24 hour period. See 64E-17.002(2)(m) F.A.C.

Florida Administrative Code, Rule Chapter 64E-17, Tanning Facilities

  • FACTS ABOUT INDOOR TANNING FACILITIES
  • MEDICATIONS
  • WARNINGS
  • Each tanning facility must be licensed in Florida.
  • Minors under the age of 18 years must have the signature of a parent or legal guardian to use an indoor tanning device.
  • Children under the age of 14 must be accompanied by an adult in order to use a tanning device.
  • Every person using a tanning device must wear protective eyewear which has been approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration.
  • The operator of each tanning facility (salon) must be certified through a course, which has been approved by the Florida Department of Health.
  • Each tanning facility operation must maintain client records for 4 years.
  • The operator of the facility (salon) is responsible for the sanitary maintenance of all devices and supporting equipment.

There are several medications that have side effects associated with the tanning process. Each tanning facility should have a list of medications that should be avoided if an individual chooses to use a tanning device.

The salon should also have a list of foods that can have photosensitizing properties.

DANGER: Ultraviolet radiation
Follow these instructions:
(The DANGER WARNING must be posted in conspicuous places in the tanning facility. A similar warning statement must be imprinted on each tanning device used at the salon.)

There are two warnings that every client of a tanning salon or facility must be aware. The two warnings follow:

  1. Avoid frequent and lengthy exposure. As with natural sunlight, exposure can cause eye and skin injury or allergic reactions. Repeated exposure can cause chronic sun damage characterized by wrinkling, dryness, fragility and bruising of the skin or skin cancer.
  2. Failure to use protective eyewear can result in severe burns or long-term injury to the eyes.